UX Burnout?

Haven’t heard of UX burnout? Don’t worry neither had I, but looking back over the last umpteen years – I’ve sure felt it.
UX burnout is a term coined by UX Designer Benjamin Earl Evans in an article for BoxesAndArrows.com (A publication that incidentally has remained well focused on the UX industry for a long time now,). Evans identifies six types of UX Burnout and offers some ideas to alleviate the stress.

After the launch, I was all UX’ed out. Even the sight of a Post-It note felt exhausting. Attributing the fatigue to creative block, I planned to take a few days off to recharge. But because my version of “recharge” also means “process everything,” I also decided to write an article for creatives about how to deal with this kind of block.

I think we all suffer some or all of these during a big project. My biggest takeaway to diminish burnout during my Outpost.com days was two things:
1. Knowing failure was OK, so long as we did a retrospective analysis and based out following approaches on what we learned did actually work.
2. Mountain biking.

Read the article here at  BoxesAndArrows.com

This entry was posted in Interactive Conversation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

