Where’s your checklist?

Does this scenario sound familiar?
We recently had a spate of critical updates for a client going live, and in the fray our teams lost their composure and produced solutions that were sub-par. Our efforts to satisfy quickly were disastrous – we nailed the new functionality, but we missed simple things like tab order, security rites, and help files.

The sprint-end demos were awful, the mistakes and gaps were instantly obvious to everyone. Yes, we had jumped forward quickly to address our customer’s urgent needs – but we were forced to delay the release of our updates by one week while we crossed our T’s and dotted out I’s. It was a painful and sleepless week for many.

Create a checklist.
A few years back I read Dr. Atul Gawande’s The Checklist Manifesto (Amazon) and latched onto the idea of a checklist (I think we all did after reading it) and how they can be used to reduce errors. From the disaster I compiled a list of everything we missed, and used it to produce what I am now calling our “Pre-flight Checklist”. Here’s the curious thing though, after the disastrous demonstrations and mad scramble to get everything right, people are resisting the checklist!

Why resistance?
I see two possible reasons right now (I’m sure there are more)

  • Ego: Checklists can help us, but that means someone other than myself is calling the shots
  • Competition: The checklist is better than me, it can do my job, I don’t need a crutch I can do my job

Rather than thinking of a checklist as a crutch, I like to think of it more like a map. A map for everyone that has all the dangers highlighted, allowing everyone to achieve the same results no matter how hurried, tired, distracted we are.

This entry was posted in Interactive Conversation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.